Past Philanthropy Award Recipients

In 2022, AFP Maryland reimagined it's National Philanthropy Day award categories in alignment with our strategic priorities and continued commitment to inclusion, diversity, equity, and access. Our award categories now include: Champion of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI), Youth Philanthropist of the Year, Fundraising Mentor of the Year, Emerging Fundraising Professional, Creative Campaign of the Year, and Career Achievement Award. These awardees embody and exemplify the true spirit of philanthropy; giving their time, their talent, and their treasure to build a stronger community. 

Our 2023 Awardees:

Champion of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) - Cole Welsh
Fundraising Mentor of the Year - Kat Parker-Thomas, CFRE
Emerging Fundraising Professional - Todd Troester, Denelle Joynes & Allie Post
Creative Campaign of the Year - Hoodstock, Russ Causey
Career Achievement Award - Katy McGuire, CFRE

Outstanding Philanthropists

2021 Francis S. Soistman, Jr.

2020 Asma Inge-Hanif

2019 Robert Meyerhoff and Rheda Becker 

2018 George & Betsy Sherman

2017 Patricia & Mark Joseph

2016 Elizabeth K. Moser

2015  Sandra and Malcolm Berman

2014  Aris Melissaratos

2013  Dr. John Hussman

2012 Edward St. John

2011 Janet and Frank Kelly

2010 Mary Catherine Bunting

2009 Arthur B. and Patricia B. Modell

2008 Keith Campbell

2007 Kitty and Tom Stoner

2006 Martin K.P. and Kelly Hill

2005 Dorothy McIlvain Scott

2004 John C. Erickson and Family

2003 Ben and Candy Carson

2002 Eddie and Sylvia Brown

2001 Helen and E. Magruder Passano, Jr. and Family

2000 Henry A. Rosenberg, Jr.

1999 Suzanne F. Cohen

1998 Willard Hackerman

1997 Stewart J. and Marlene Greenebaum 

Outstanding Philanthropic Foundations 

2020 T. Rowe Price Foundation

2019 The Geaton and JoAnn DeCesaris Family Foundation

2018 William G. Baker, Jr. Memorial Fund

2017 The Kahlert Foundation

2016 The Hecht-Levi Foundation 

2015 The Philip E. and Carole R. Ratcliffe Foundation 

2014 The Charles Crane Family Foundation 

2013 The Abell Foundation 

2012 W.P. Carey Foundation 

2011 Joseph & Harvey Meyerhoff Family Charitable Funds 

2009 Baltimore Community Foundation 

2008 The Sheridan Foundation 

2007 The Jacob and Hilda Blaustein Foundation, Inc. 

2006 The Zanvyl and Isabelle Krieger Fund 

2005 The Reginald F. Lewis Foundation, Inc 

2004 The Hoffberger Foundation 

2003 The Goldseker Foundation 

2002 Annie E. Casey Foundation 

2001 Open Society Institute-Baltimore 

1999 Marion I. and Henry J. Knott Foundation 

1997  France Merrick Foundation 


Special Recognition Awards

2017 John Dinkel, Baltimore Business Journal

2012 Betsy S. Nelson, Association of Baltimore Area Grantmakers

2009 Shirley Howard, The Children’s Cancer Foundation, Inc.

2003 Robert Cradle, Rob’s Barbershop Foundation, Inc.